Harvard Medical School Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership  


The deadline for the 2014 Dean's Community Service Awards has passed. We are no longer accepting nominations.


Community service is an integral part of the missions of Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Dental Medicine. In faithfulness to this commitment, the Dean’s Community Service Award was established in 1999 to recognize individuals whose dedication and commitment to community service have made a positive impact on the local, national, or international community.

Since the inception of the Dean’s Community Service Award, Harvard Medical School has recognized the contributions of 92 individuals and donated $1,000 to 87 organizations that serve our community. Ten faculty members have been honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award for Community Service.

   In the News:


2013 Dean's Community Service Award Recipients
Photo by Ken Burg

Left to Right:
1st row:
Cheri Blauwet, Yvonne Gomez-Carrion, Nancy Oriol, Thanh-Nga Tran, Amanda Nichols, Dean Jeffrey Flier
2nd row: Philip Snell, Benjamin Robbins

Lifetime Achievement

Nancy Oriol, MD
Associate Professor of Anaesthesia, BIDMC
Dean for Students, HMS
The Family Van


Yvonne Gomez-Carrion, MD
Assistant Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, BIDMC
Concerned Black Men of Massachusetts

Thanh-Nga Tran, MD, PhD
Instructor in Dermatology, MGH
Vietnam Vascular Anomalies Center


Cheri Blauwet, MD
Clinical Fellow in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation,
Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital
Spaulding Adaptive Sports Centers


Benjamin Robbins
HMS 2014
SALAMA: Tanzania


Amanda Nichols, BS
Staff Assistant III, Systems Biology, HMS
The National MS Society

Philip Snell
Research Assistant III Protein Engineering, Wyss Institute, HMS
PEER Servants

Click Here to see additional photos from the Dean’s Community Service Award Breakfast on Harvard Medical School’s Facebook page. >>

Click here to see recipients from previous years >>


The advisory committee for the Community Service Award will review the nominations and select at least one recipient for each of the four categories:

  • faculty member
  • trainee (house officers, post-doctoral fellows)
  • staff member
  • student

Harvard Medical School donates $1,000 to the organizations served by award recipients.


The deadline for the 2014 Dean's Community Service Awards has passed.

Please check back for information on nominations for 2015.

All nominations must be submitted online. We encourage you to nominate someone, whose commitment to and service in the community has made a positive impact on the lives of people locally, nationally or internationally. Self-nominations are accepted.

EXAMPLES of the types of involvement that the committee will consider may include, but are not limited to:

  • Service with an established community service organization or faith community that goes beyond what the agency considers to be as work of routine volunteer;
  • Creative effort to develop and/or sustain a new program within an existing service agency;
  • An overall commitment to service as shown by duration of involvement in one or more programs;
  • Development of a one-time service effort, such as an annual event or a disaster relief effort;
  • Helping to found a new independent service or program.

Eligibility Criteria for Each Award Category:

Each nominee must meet one of the criteria below:

    • Faculty must be based at HMS/HSDM or any HMS-affiliated hospital or institution
    • Trainee must be a house officer, clinical, research or post-doctoral fellow based at HMS/HSDM or HMS-affiliated hospital or institution
    • Student must be enrolled at HMS/HSDM or under the HMS Division of Medical Sciences
    • Staff must work directly for HMS or HSDM (i.e., must receive a Harvard paycheck)

For more information please contact:

Ellen McCarthy, PhD, MPH
Assistant Dean for Development and Diversity
Harvard Medical School
Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership
164 Longwood Avenue, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02115-5818
Tel: 617-432-7212; Fax: 617-432-3834
email: dcp_csaward@hms.harvard.edu


Recognition Awards

Community Service Award
    - Past Recipients
    - Communities Served
    - FAQs

Diversity Awards

Mentoring Awards

Ruth M. Batson Social Justice Award

Post Doctorate & Fellowship
Research and Evaluation
Our Community

About | Pre-College | College | Medical & Graduate | Post Doctorate & Fellowship | Junior Faculty | COE | Awards | Giving | Calendar | Contact


Copyright 2009 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College